Russia lifts Far East visa requirements for 18 countries

first_imgRussia has recently announced that it will lift visa requirements for 18 countries. Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev signed a decree recently, allowing citizens of 18 countries visa-free travel to the Russian Far East starting August 2017.The list includes Algeria, Bahrain, Brunei, India, Iran, Qatar, China, North Korea, Kuwait, Morocco, Mexico, UAE, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Tunisia, Turkey and Japan.The new rule could dramatically increase the number of tourists to the region, according to the Ministry of Far East Development.Deputy Minister for the Development of the Far East, Pavel Volkov, said, “We’d like to see an increase in tourism to the region by at least 30%. Given the fact that every wealthy tourist spends at least $1,000 in the territory, we assume this will significantly increase the opportunities for the development of the region, trade turnover, and currency flows.”last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *